Posted by: mindyourknitting | July 2, 2009

Canadian, proudly

In keeping with my habit of posting about holidays a little late (ahem, Father’s Day), I am posting this on July 2nd, one day after our nation’s 142nd birthday.  And it’s kind of late in the evening, so I’m going to keep this short so that it doesn’t turn into July 3rd.  We celebrated Canada Day in a  low-key fashion this year by attending a barbeque (BBQ?  barbecue?) at a friend’s house.  We saw friends we really like, had a few drinks, ate hamburgers and sausage and a day-glo green mint cream chocolate cake (memo to the President: normally I love your products, and I love mint and chocolate, but what was that…), and our babies played together – okay, beside each other – and the weather turned out to be beautiful despite a foreboding forecast, so it was a pretty good Canada Day.  It wasn’t the blurry boozefest of years past, but almost nothing in my social life resembles what it was pre-baby and I’ve adjusted my expectations accordingly.  And in many ways this was the perfect Canadian summer day, the perfect tribute to a country that loves nothing more than a barbeque (BBQ? barbecue?) or a kitchen party.

I had a long diatribe planned about the patriotic nature of Canadians, but it seems kind of unnecessary somehow. I really love where I live, and I’ve traveled enough places to know I don’t want to live anywhere else, although I’ll gladly visit.  I think Canadians are generally great people (okay, there are some assholes out there, no joke, but overall we all try to get along, I think), and we live in a country that is second to none.  I think we’re generally* a well-governed,  peaceful nation that tries to do well for its own population and other nations in need (there’s the military historian in me wanting to bust out a lecture about Canada’s peacekeeping efforts…I’ll spare you.  You’re welcome).  I will say that I am proud of the contribution Canada has made and continues to make to this world, and although I’m as prone to bouts of cynicism as everyone else, I think Canadians make a difference.  Just because Canadians value peace at home doesn’t mean they won’t fight a war here or abroad in the name of protecting civilians from a wide range of dangers.  And Canada Day is second only to Remembrance Day for me when it comes to thinking of the Canadian Forces’ members who are currently serving overseas, risking everything.  I hope they had a safe Canada Day.

*I said generally for a reason – it’s not perfect, I’m just not in a complaining mood.

Leave a Reply

Categories

