Posted by: mindyourknitting | July 9, 2009

Gone, Baby, Gone

This is going to be the world’s fastest blog post – we decided a few days ago to flee the province and take an actual, bona fide vacation, so I’m running around like an idiot trying to figure out what to pack for two adults and a baby.  Did I mention we are driving?  To Nova Scotia?  And staying in a cottage?  So I’m packing everything.  I’m very excited about this escape, but a bit nervous about traveling with the baby, since she’s not a huge fan of her carseat at present, and it’s a very, very long drive.  We’re driving at night in the hope that she will sleep most of the way, and I’m sure that will backfire on us somehow in a pretty spectacular way.  But putting my baby’s feet in the ocean will be worth it.  Now that I think of it, putting my husband’s feet in the ocean will be worth it (and I’m not speaking literally here.  I don’t touch his feet) – he needs a break more than I do, and he’s never been to the Maritimes.  I’ve been many times, but haven’t been to my dad’s family cottage in many years, so this is a very exciting trip for me too.  We get to see some family we haven’t seen since at least our wedding, and we’re planning some side trips to Halifax to see the tallships (and I get to see a school friend too, yay) and possibly Charlottetown, to see whatever it is that is in Charlottetown.

I’m also excited about the fact that I got my birthday present early from my husband – a beautiful new camera, a Nikon D60.  I’ve only ever owned the typical digital point & shoot variety of camera before, but I’ve been talking about wanting to take photography lessons for a while now (you know, in all my free time), so having a fancy camera is a step in the right direction.  I have the long, long drive to decipher the user manual and all the camera’s buttons, so by the time we get to Nova Scotia I’m sure I’ll have mastered the thing and will be taking breathtaking pictures of scenic panoramas.  Or something like that.  I’ll post some of these pictures here and an account of our travels when we return in a week or so!

Responses

  1. Yay to you too!

    One thing: I just got locked into a meeting Thursday at 11:30. I’m sorry! So hopefully we can do coffee/Pier 1 in the morning?

  2. What a wonderful first family trip!! I cannot believe that Abigail is one already and I am waiting to read all about her birthday party!

    Trista – I love reading your blog posts. Thanks for sharing!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

