Posted by: mindyourknitting | September 12, 2009

Rededicated

It’s been two weeks since I went back to work and things were better this week.  I’m adjusting and so is Abigail.  There are some things outside of the obvious changes that I still have to get used to – changes in her schedule, getting used to having people in my house when I’m not home – but these are far from insurmountable.  And we had a really good weekend last week, and my kid is a happy little peach this weekend, so that makes me optimistic that my tale of sadness & woe from my last blog post may have been overwrought and premature.  Let’s hope.  Now I worry that Abigail isn’t getting enough exposure to other kids, since she’s not in daycare and is not being taken to playgroups etc. during the week, but I guess no situation is ideal.  We still go to swimming once a week, and she still loves it, although the after-work time slot is sheer madness (the pool is full and the bleachers are packed – Parent & Tot swim classes are apparently a spectator sport) compared to the civilized 10am class I used to be able to take her to.

The real news around these parts is that I met with my PhD thesis advisor when he was in town this week, and I’m officially back on the thesis-writing track, or at least trying to be.  For the record, I have not laid eyes on my advisor in years – this is the result of living in a different city than my university – and it has been far too easy to let our communication lag.  This may have had something to do with my non-productive state.  We devised a tentative schedule that, from my perspective, is laughably optimistic, but I am going to try my best to get this thing done in the time frame we’ve set.  This is going to mean that my husband has to get on board (which he is) and pick up more slack at home (which he says he will) so that I have more time to do school-related stuff, especially after Abigail goes to bed during the week.  It’s the only way it’s going to happen. 

This is going to be kept relatively short since we are getting ready to head out to my parents to drop off Abigail (once she gets up from her not-on-schedule bizarro middle of the day nap) to my parents so that we can go out for dinner and attend the opera tonight.  I’ve never been to an opera (musicals, concerts, ballet, yes, opera, no) so I’m really looking forward to it.  We’re going to see The Magic Flute, for those who care to know.

Gotta go feed the baby, she’s awake – Erik just asked why I insist on poisoning her.  The poison in question is the vegetable and tofu scrambled eggs I’m going to give her for lunch.  Any guesses which ingredient he objects to?  Here’s a hint: it’s heavy on bean curd.  I promise to have a few more frequent posts coming up to catch up on some things, I’m tempted to write them in batches and release them at intervals – is that cheating?

Leave a Reply

Categories

