Posted by: mindyourknitting | January 12, 2010

She’s a little bit country….

So our furnace is fixed (on day 13 of our repair odyssey, ugh) and I’ll stop whining about it here (that’s what my Facebook status updates are for).  As promised, I’m going to tell you about one of the – many – awesome Christmas presents that Abigail got this year – one specifically designed to give me seizures and make me think the  Thudguard isn’t such a crazy idea after all, because “You take the FIRST STEP and protect your toddler’s brain!”

I have something to admit – I like dressing my little girl like a little girl.  Anyone who knows me is likely not shocked by this admission.  But I do make some effort to give her gender-neutral toys, or rather toys that are both traditionally feminine and  masculine, because most toys and children’s clothing are shockingly gender-specific.  But we do have an inordinate amount of pink in our house (see previous post for pictures of craptastic Disney Princess stuff), although this is all counterbalanced by my parents and their influence on my kid.  As I’ve mentioned before, they live on a horse farm and Abigail spends a few days a week with them so she gets to visit the horses and play in the mud (when it’s not frozen solid) to her heart’s content.  Sometimes she comes home dirty, but always awfully happy.  One of her favourite things is to go on a tractor ride with her Grampa:  

  

So for Christmas, my parents got her this:  

Sweet Ride

  

In case you can’t tell, that’s a John Deere Farm Animals Hay Ride – a kid-sized electric tractor for ages 2-5.  Pretty awesome, isn’t it?  She’s already figured out the little gas pedal (scary), and is raring to go anytime she sees it.  See, no gender stereotyping here, okay?  

Dad, I do NOT have a mullet!

 

Responses

  1. Glad to hear your furnace is finally fixed! And by the way, it was my DREAM as a child to have a horse. A family horse farm is pretty much the awesomest thing ever. Um, can I come visit sometime?

    • My dad’s the farm manager – it’s owned by someone else, but my parents pretty much have the run of the place and my cousins get to go riding, as I’m sure my daughter will when she gets big enough. The horses are fantastic – there’s over 40 on the property. So yes, come visit! Although I can’t promise better weather than you’re having – have you dug yourself out of the snow yet? If so, we have lots more you can shovel 🙂

  2. Trista,

    Kevin would say “Nothing runs like a Deere!” I’m loving your blog and Abigail looks like a lot of fun!

    • Thanks Angie! The mini-tractor is unbelievable – it’s battery-powered, and my parents’ dog rides in the little wagon that attaches to the back of it. Abigail’s going to be a menace this summer, I think.

  3. Dude. If she gets any cuter, my ovaries are going to explode.


Leave a Reply

Categories

