Posted by: mindyourknitting | April 23, 2010

Grounded

I’m not looking at checklists.  I’m not consulting guide books and recommendations from friends.  I’m not furiously throwing clothing into a big pink suitcase in an effort to be done packing tonight.  I’m not growing increasingly more anxious about leaving my daughter for ten days.  I’m not trying to decide what books to bring on the plane, or what clothing I’ll need for London and Edinburgh in April.  Instead, I’m sitting in my Snuggie (the blanket with sleeves!),  eating BBQ chips and  typing this out while Erik plays Rock Band*/watches the Habs break his heart (again) beside me, and my only plans for tomorrow are a consolation hair appointment at the spa, which hopefully will make me feel better about the fact that our UK trip got cancelled this week.  And that sucks with a capital “S”.  

From the moment I heard about the unpronounceable Icelandic volcano’s bad behaviour, I held out hope that everything would be back to normal by the time we were due to fly out.  But then the meeting I was scheduled to attend next week got cancelled, no matter that travel in Europe was back to normal, and this cancellation erased my flight, hotel, and per diem with it.  The fact that we were tacking a few days of holidays onto a work trip was what made the “vacation” part possible in the first place, and there was little chance of booking me a flight, so the whole trip went down the tubes.  To say we were disappointed would be an understatement.  

I had tried to be reasonable when the volcano first acted up, joking about sacrificial virgins and saying things like “What can you do?  It’s a volcano!” and “weather in London is cloudy, with a chance of volcano!” but when the news came that the trip was cancelled I sat at my desk and fought off being weepy at work (because for the record I have NEVER cried at work.  …At least not this  work).  We had to cancel our British Airways flights from London to Edinburgh, and notify the lovely B&B we booked in Edinburgh that we wouldn’t make it for our reservation.  Aside from the fact that we’ve lost some fairly large deposits on our personal travel arrangements, I am bitterly disappointed that we won’t get a few days away to ourselves; we won’t be getting tickets to see Wicked in London (we missed our first chance because Abigail was born so early and we had to give the tickets to the show in Ottawa away – apparently I am NEVER seeing that frigging musical); I won’t (finally) get to Scotland; I won’t get to see a friend I haven’t seen in ages who is pregnant; and a million other things I was looking forward to.  I know England and Scotland aren’t going anywhere, and there are a bajillion other people who were far, far more affected by the situation in Europe than we were, but I can’t help being a bit sad about the trip that wasn’t.  My pity party will be over soon, I promise, but the whole situation still stings a bit.  What can I say?  Erik and I travel really well together, we generally want to do the same things, and get excited about exploring new places.  I don’t know when we’ll have the chance to do this particular trip again.  That pink suitcase I mentioned at the start of this post?  I really wanted it, but for now it’s staying at the luggage store.

Silver lining?  Abigail spent a night at my parents’ house last week as a kind of test run since Abby was going to stay with them for the five-odd days we’d both be gone, and it went well enough that we now know overnights at Gigi & Papa’s is an option.  Awesome.

So, ladies and gents of the internet, how do you deal with natural (and other) disasters?  Crying jags?  Misplaced anger?  (say, at a volcano?)  Booze? 

*This is what it’s looked like at our house since Erik brought home Rock Band, which I really, really suck at:

I heard they're putting together a traveling family band...

Rock Band band name: Crabigail

Responses

  1. Oh no! I’m so sorry! That must be so disappointing. If I ever win the lottery, I promise you right now I’ll fly you and yours to Scotland to stay at that lovely Bed and Breakfast.

    • Yes, very disappointing…I’ve tucked away the info you sent for future use. And if I win the lottery, I’ll fly us ALL to Scotland and buy Jack and Abigail matching kilts.

      And the B&B was even lovely about us cancelling – gave us a bit of a break on their cancellation policy and promised a discount if we re-book with them later. This just added to their appeal.

  2. Well it isn’t the lottery, but who knows? You could win! Good luck!

    http://www.cometoscotland.com/win/

    If you win, we’ll be there in August too. We can meet up!

  3. Thank you so much for this!!

    I entered with both of my e-mail addresses, made my husband enter, and even entered my mom (who is the only person who could win this that wouldn’t make me furious at the injustice of me not winning). Fingers and toes crossed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

